The NBA – It’s a Privilege to Work with a Real Team

The NBA finals are underway.  You sometimes hear it said that professional basketball is not a team sport, as the rosters are loaded with superstars who would rather display their talents than play in a team structure.  But this is not true of successful teams. The fact is that team sports require a loyalty to the team concept to accomplish anything meaningful!

My definition of a team is simple.  It is a group of people striving for a common goal or aspiration.  But there are two important prerequisites for any team to be successful.  First, each member of your team must have a genuine concern for the welfare and success of all of its members.  You know that there are few endeavors that are as rewarding as working with a group of selfless individuals? Second, the group must strive towards a significant objective.  Hopefully, a transformational goal.

When you have those two ingredients, the team realizes an additional bonus- it will accept any adversity that cloud their aspirations.  Don’t we gladly accept adversity if something really important is at stake?  And here is the real reward-when you join with someone to overcome adversity you form bonds of friendship and loyalty as enduring as any offered in our lifetime.

The fact is it’s a privilege to work with a real team.  In any aspect of life, business, or sport there is nothing to top it.

About Santo Costa

Sandy Costa is an internationally respected speaker and business leader. Check out Sandy’s website at www.SantoCosta.com
This entry was posted in NBA and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The NBA – It’s a Privilege to Work with a Real Team

  1. Caleb says:

    Hi Sandy,

    I wanted to say thank you for the signed copy of your book. It made a wonderful graduation gift from my father. I am just now starting to read it, and so far I really love it. Your gentle wisdom is so refreshing. Once I finish it, I will likely discuss it in-depth on my blog.

    While I’m here, I thought I would share this: http://compassionforhumanity.blogspot.com/
    I found it just recently, so I haven’t read all of it, but there are some good thoughts here.

    Peace,
    Caleb

    • Santo Costa says:

      Hi Caleb, congraulations on your graduation. Thanks so very much for your very kind note. I am delighted that you are enjoying my book. Thanks also for the website. May you continue to have success in all you do. With wamest wishes, Sandy

Leave a Reply

